Courtesy Oliver Dufresne

0 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets over 9 years ago

I quite enjoyed this gig at the Canterbury Technical College, even though Ian sounds notably hoarse, Guy seems utterly spent and nothing worth mentioning stems from the interaction between band and audience.
Most of my enjoyment probably emanates from the quality of the mix of the recording. Admittedly, the vocals suffer from a slight crackle during the first couple of songs, but the mix basically settles as soon as Bulldog Front, after which the performance holds up well and surely engages. I feel Brendan especially gets to shine on this recording, as he bangs away on his skins without missing a single beat. An absolute beast.
Highlights in my book include Lockdown, Furniture and (again) Burning which features some altered lyrics to boot as Guy expresses his tour fatigue when he spits out "I wanted a language of my own, instead I'm sitting in this fucking band, driving round and round, round and round, round and round". The live staple Suggestion is another treat as it gets an elaborate play and clocks in at 8+ minutes.
The overall performance is pretty much spot-on, with the exception of Merchandise which feels helter-skelter right off the bat and even gets completely butchered halfway through the song.
To conclude, it can be mentioned that the sound quality of the last two songs, Waiting Room and Glueman distinctly differs from the rest of the recording, perhaps because the audio of these songs has been pulled from VHS while the rest of the document is soundboard quality. Both songs, although a bit trebly, are still enjoyable nevertheless, and make for a pummelling set closer.

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0089 Fugazi Canterbury England 12/2/1988

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
 Technical College
Played with:
 Playground, Pest Control
Recorded by
 Andy P/Fear and Loathing Zine
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
 VHS audio
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent
Play Sample Track
1. Bad Mouth
2. Interlude 1
3. Song #1
4. Interlude 2
5. Bulldog Front
6. Lockdown
7. Interlude 3
8. Merchandise
9. Furniture
10. Interlude 4
11. Burning
12. Margin Walker
13. Interlude 5
14. Give Me The Cure
15. Interlude 6
16. Break-In
17. Interlude 7
18. Burning Too
19. In Defense of Humans
20. Interlude 8
21. Suggestion
22. Waiting Room
23. Interlude 9
24. Glueman
25. Outro

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.