Photo © by Photographer Unknown

5 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets almost 10 years ago

This is the second gig the band played in the state of Virginia, and it is set as part of a short string of 1988 winter and spring regional tour dates.
Maintaining an open door policy, Ian introduces "Vladimir Vartovsky" at the beginning of the recording, who will provide a handful of musical interludes on the organ throughout the show. According to the show side notes, the guest is actually none other than Ian Svenonius.
At that time up-and-coming (his first band Ulysses or Nation of Ulysses was formed in the spring of 1988), the now infamous Ian Svenonius is portrayed by Chris Richards in his May 8, 2014 article "How the 'Sassiest Boy in America' became the most interesting man in rock-and-roll" as "an underground rock star, an icon of the D.C. punk scene, an author and an auteur, a pontificator equally versed in astrology, Castro, forgotten soul 45s and the politics of the radical left. He’s frequently the coolest person at the party and his hair always looks terrific."
Still, the problem with the sparse contributions on the organ by Mr. Svenonius on this recording is that these suffer from the subpar sound quality, rendering parts hardly discernible.
Overall, I find that this recording is quite sharp on the ears, that the guitar and drums drown out most of Joe's bass most of the time and that you get quite a bit of annoying distortion with the occasional crackling or tearing sound as well.
However, if you are willing to look past this, you will find that there is nothing really wrong with the performance by the band itself, and that the audience is very much into things as well.
In this regard, personal favourites include Waiting Room, Merchandise, Suggestion or The Word. For the record, do note that KYEO, still in its extended version, is incomplete.

By: Jason Kooken almost 12 years ago

This show also had a band that Kent Stax was playing with when he left Scream. This was a fun night.

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0014 Fugazi Merrifield, VA USA 2/20/1988

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
 Merrifield Community Center
Door Price:
Played with:
 Shudder to Think, MFD
Recorded by
 John Fox
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent

Featuring Ian Svenonius, aka "Vladimir Vartofsky" on impromptu organ.

Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Joe #1
3. Bad Mouth
4. Interlude 1
5. Furniture
6. Interlude 2
7. Waiting Room
8. Song #1
9. Burning
10. Interlude 3
11. Merchandise
12. Interlude 4
13. Suggestion
14. Break-In
15. The Word
16. KYEO

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.