Photo © by John Falls.

-1 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: Antti V over 2 years ago

Fugazi finishing the fall 1993 Canadian stint in Montreal, and this would be show number 5 on that leg. The band played the city of Montreal four times over the years, and twice in the venue of Metropolis. Friendly opening remarks come from Ian as usual, but this time Guy chimes in by introducing the band in fluent french. There's a certain relaxed atmosphere with this show, and it's emphasized later when Guy mentions Shudder To Think's Nathan Larson's birthday and dedicates Rend It to him. High spirits are also indicated in a Montreal Gazette interview with the show opener Goldfish:

"For their second show, Goldfish found themselves opening for DIY iconoclasts Fugazi in front of several thousand at Metropolis. ""Ian (MacKaye, Fugazi singer) was vocal-coaching us right before the show,"" band's singer/guitarist Carrie Haber recalls. " 'Beautiful! You’re ready!' ""

A good overall mood is often signalled with a classic Fugazi instrumental opening a show, and such is the case here as Joe #1 rumbles from the stage. The recording sounds delightfully massive with a nice prominence on Joe's bass. The drums are slightly drowned by the guitars and subsequently sound a bit thin, but Brendan's toms do have a nice, detailed sound. You can feel the room from the tape, not to mention the band's delightful, unified rock n roll racket.

The show pushes on without stops and this is the kind of a great flow you get at a Fugazi concert when the music is allowed to happen. The listener can just admire the tight unit the band is due to the fall 93 tour having lasted nearly a month already.

By: Antti V over 2 years ago

One show highlight in particular is the superb mid-set flow of classic Fugazi tracks. Starting with a huge Promises, through a driving Give Me The Cure, cutting straight to Suggestion and ending with the rocking duo of Margin Walker and Waiting Room. Two jam-filled, positively lengthy tracks - Promises and Suggestion - so closely together actually works really well, as it creates a kind of a hypnotic state to sink into. I can only imagine the big party that must've been going on in the house, and there's some singalong caught on tape to give the listener an idea.

The evening continues scuff-free with energetic performances. And as is usual with the Fugazi encores, the band leave everything on the stage with explosive tracks, and finish the show with a peaceful Sweet and Low which has a cool rhythmic jam at the end.

A recommendable entry especially for those who like them without too many interludes. Sound-wise also a very good recording, stable throughout. As a bonus this includes a few rare setlist additions in the form of the aforementioned Joe #1, and KYEO, both of which got only a handful of plays on the 1993 fall tour.

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0583 Fugazi Montreal, QC Canada 9/12/1993

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
Door Price:
 6 (canadian)
Played with:
 Shudder To Think, Goldfish
Recorded by
 Joey Picuri
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent
Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Joe #1
3. Reclamation
4. Public Witness Program
5. Facet Squared
6. Turnover
7. Styrofoam
8. Rend It
9. Instrument
10. Exit Only
11. Promises
12. Give Me The Cure
13. Suggestion
14. Margin Walker
15. Waiting Room
16. Smallpox Champion
17. Returning The Screw
18. Blueprint
19. Encore
20. Great Cop
21. Cassavetes
22. KYEO
23. Sweet and Low
24. Outro

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.