Photo © by Fugazi

1 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets about 8 years ago

Originally broadcast on Dutch radio, this live recording documents the first out of three times Fugazi performed at club Doornroosje (which translates as Sleeping Beauty) in Nijmegen, the Netherlands. This particular concert dates back to November 1989, at the onset of a 1 month + European tour.

The incredible debut 7 Songs or Self-Titled EP is presented in its entirety here, as well as 4 songs off the follow-up Margin Walker EP, 8 songs off the (then unreleased) 1990 debut full-length Repeater album (note that the beginning of the gig as well as part of set list opener Sieve-Fisted Find are missing), 2 songs off the 3 Songs 7 inch, and 1 song first released on the 1989 State of the Union benefit album showcasing various Dischord artists.

The audio quality and mix of the recording are pretty good and quite consistent overall, even though Brendan’s snare drum sounds somewhat harsh occasionally, Joe’s bass lightly tainted.

Banter or dialogue is few and far between, yet the band clearly is in an easy-going mood, the performance tight, engaging and most definitely enjoyable.


By: gunter habets about 8 years ago


Add to this a couple of other things worth noting,

- Turnover because this song is outright killer when the stars align ;
- a lit up take on Burning, another relentless personal favourite ;
- the “small instrumental interlude”, i.e. an embryonic version of the 1991 Steady Diet of Nothing staple Long Division, while the band adds Guy’s guitar and gears up for a memorable rendering of Shut The Door ;
- Waiting Room, slightly tailored and altered to address the issue of peeling paint at a friend’s house ;
- another drawn-out, phenomenal rendering of Suggestion featuring Amy Pickering on guest vocals ;
- the introductory guitar licks of Two Beats Off are slightly reminiscent of the opening notes of Metallica’s Welcome Home (Sanitarium) but this might very well be a mere coincidence ;
- one of the last times Fugazi would perform In Defense of Humans live, before shelving this song indefinitely ;
- a deliciously pulsating, throbbing take on Glue Man ;
- and Break-In atypically yet effectively closing out the set in high gear, steamrolling fashion.

The set list:

1. Sieve-Fisted Find 2. And The Same 3. Turnover 4. Bad Mouth 5. Margin Walker 6. Burning II 7. Burning 8. Bulldog Front 9. Song # 1 10. Shut The Door 11. Greed 12. Blueprint 13. Waiting Room 14. Suggestion 15. Give Me The Cure 16. Two Beats Off 17. Repeater 18. Provisional 19. In Defense of Humans 20. Glue Man 21. Merchandise 22. Break-In

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0152 Fugazi Nijmegen, Netherlands 11/9/1989

Show Date:
Recorded by
Original Source:
 Radio Broadcast

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.