Photo © by Adam Pobiak

6 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets over 3 years ago

The second gig of the 1998 spring US tour. For the occasion, the band set up in the Rangos Ballroom at Carnegie Mellon University, and performed a benefit for the CMU Radio Station Tower Fund.

The recording starts off rough with mostly drums in the mix, but balances out after a few songs.

Once the mix settles (during Styrofoam), the experience really flows and is most enjoyable. Even before that I had fun listening closely as Brendan sets the pace on his drum kit. Crank up the volume and you get to feel the throbbing heart of the rhythm section.

Note that Ian drops the ball on the opening chords of a couple of songs (Bulldog Front, KYEO) and that some songs suffer from sonic irregularities or sudden volume shifts (e.g. By You, Rend It, KYEO), but these might very well be due to sound man Nick Pellicciotto playing around for effect.

As to the set list, End Hits is the main album of choice here, with no less than 9 songs thrown in and the other albums being notably less or even just marginally represented.

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0850 Fugazi Pittsburgh, PA USA 5/2/1998

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
 Carnegie Mellon University
Door Price:
Played with:
 Quixotic, Burning Airlines
Recorded by
 Nick Pellicciotto
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent

Played in the Rangos Ballroom. The show was a benefit for the CMU Radio Station Tower Fund.

Recording starts off rough with mostly drums in the mix, but gets balanced out after a few songs.

Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Birthday Pony
3. Place Position
4. Styrofoam
5. Bulldog Front
6. Reclamation
7. Guilford Fall
8. Break
9. Blueprint
10. Recap Modotti
11. By You
12. Arpeggiator
13. Closed Captioned
14. Two Beats Off
15. Bed for the Scraping
16. FD
17. Pink Frosty
18. Rend It
19. Burning
20. Waiting Room
21. No Surprise
22. KYEO
23. Outro

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.