Photo © by Kelly Maron

4 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets almost 6 years ago

Outdoor kick-off gig of the 2002 Fugazi tour itinerary (their final year of touring to date), which played out at the University of Richmond (or Jenkins) Greek Amphitheater.

2002 would see the band performing 32 times, a relatively modest year at that, offering 18 dates in the US and another 14 dates throughout the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Considering temperature hovered about freezing point on this particular night in time, it is astonishing Fugazi still managed to bust out a 1 hour and 18 minutes spectacle, presenting 19 songs live in total, although I am not sure the recording actually is complete since it cuts off rather shortly after Epic Problem without so much as a thanks or a goodbye.

From the get-go, the mood is easygoing, the banter humorous and inter alia related to the particular meteorological circumstances of “the coldest gig you have ever been to.” It’s fun to catch Ian chuckling while suggesting someone to go home because the latter utters his hands are cold, or hear him calling people “surly little fucking bastards” for showering complaints on the band, or to hear Guy muse he’s “trying to figure out how [he] can play this song and put [his] hands in [his] pockets.”


By: gunter habets almost 6 years ago


I did not discern anything out of the ordinary as to the selection and order of the songs, but find it quite a feat that the band still delivers despite the freezing conditions, performing each song to a T. It appears to hint at meticulous and rigorous rehearsals and tour preparations.

Note that the audio quality of the band recording is nigh on perfect in my opinion, but on the downside, the audience is not all that audible in the mix, except for in-between songs.

The set list showcases work off of most albums - The Argument (8), Furniture EP (2), End Hits (2), In on the Kill Taker (3), Steady Diet of Nothing (2), Repeater (2) - but not a single song off of Red Medicine or the Margin Walker / 7 Songs EPs and 3 Songs 7 inch was played that night.

If you listen closely, you can overhear Ian mentioning they did not play anything from Red Medicine during an interlude near the end of the recording, and even though Brendan seems to suggest playing Back to Base, it turns out they skipped the album entirely this time around.

By: Michael W Roth over 12 years ago

I remember being at this show too. I was amazed at how well they played despite the temperatures!

By: Alfred Stuart over 12 years ago

I was there -- it was cold!! They kept stopping to warm up their fingers!

By: Kelly Maron over 12 years ago

pssst. i took the photo shown above and the name is wrong.... it should be kelly maron. though mawn is an interesting alternative. ;)

By: David Donaldson over 12 years ago

Sadly, this was the only Fugazi show I got to go to. I hope someone out there has a recording. I'd love to go back and listen to it...preferably in a warmer place. It was freezing that night!

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS1014 Fugazi Richmond, VA USA 3/22/2002

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
 University of Richmond Greek Amphitheater
Door Price:
Played with:
 Rah Bras
Recorded by
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent

Outdoors and below freezing!

Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Ex-Spectator
3. Interlude 1
4. Sieve-Fisted Find
5. Reclamation
6. Full Disclosure
7. Interlude 2
8. Closed Captioned
9. Oh
10. Long Division
11. Public Witness Program
12. Furniture
13. Interlude 3
14. The Kill
15. Nightshop
16. Break
17. Number 5
18. Rend It
19. The Argument
20. Blueprint
21. Encore
22. Cashout
23. Interlude 4
24. Smallpox Champion
25. Interlude 5
26. Epic Problem

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.