1 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets over 3 years ago

Concluding my San Antonio streak, there’s just the 1993 gig at the Showcase left to highlight.

Between the confrontational and highly tumultuous 1995 show at that same venue and the stellar performance from 1990 at the Cameo Theater in San Antonio, this one from 1993 combines elements of both.

As in 1990, the band is on, crushing it song after song, busting out a high-energy and thunderous set (notice Walken’s Syndrome, Great Cop or Reprovisional - without a tag this time - early on) that is replete with straight up bangers (the only flub I noticed is that the first couple of lines of Latin Roots get bungled).

And as in 1995, plenty of hecklers attended the show which results in numerous altercations with the band. Fortunately though, most of it gets addressed humorously and tauntingly in between songs and does not disrupt the incredible organic flow of the set (in stark contrast to the ‘95 gig). Particularly poignant in this regard is the “what it would be like to fuck Guy Picciotto” rap.

The performance appears to have elicited a lot of stage diving and crowd surfing as well, in spite of continuous requests by Ian to do without. Joe dedicates the encore to “the women in the front row, you have been kicked in the face so many times tonight and some of these guys who have been up on top of people’s heads should really lay down at the end of the show near the door so these women can kick them in the head again on their way out.”


By: gunter habets over 3 years ago


The recording presents 21 live tracks. In on the Kill Taker is in heavy rotation (7), followed by Repeater (5) and the 7 Songs debut EP (4), Steady Diet of Nothing (2) and the Margin Walker EP (2), and 3 Songs seven-inch (1).

Highlights are plenty as mentioned, and include And The Same, Suggestion (”she did nothing to deserve it, beachball, beachball prick”), Promises, Joe #1 (”too much fun, no more fun”) or Glueman which showcases an “alternate” intro with Guy calling out the letters G-L-U-E-M-A-N while Ian builds momentum. My only complaint is that the last couple of seconds of the song as well as the outro are missing. Two Beats Off features another The Place I Love tag but there is some “(Don’t) fight the feeling” referencing going on here too it seems, as well as during Glueman, but I’m not sure which song this might relate to, if any.

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0520 Fugazi San Antonio, TX USA 4/14/1993

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
 Showcase Special Events
Door Price:
Played with:
 El Santos, Glorium
Recorded by
 Joey Picuri
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent
Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Reclamation
3. Walken's Syndrome
4. Interlude 1
5. Merchandise
6. Latin Roots
7. Interlude 2
8. Great Cop
9. Public Witness Program
10. Interlude 3
11. And The Same
12. Reprovisional
13. Facet Squared
14. Interlude 4
15. Cassavetes
16. Interlude 5
17. Suggestion
18. Give Me The Cure
19. Waiting Room
20. Interlude 6
21. Smallpox Champion
22. Returning The Screw
23. Interlude 7
24. Sieve-Fisted Find
25. Promises
26. Encore
27. Joe #1
28. Two Beats Off
29. Repeater
30. Interlude 8
31. Glueman

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.