Photo © by John Falls.

-1 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: David Fischer over 5 years ago

Shut the Door is great at this show.

By: gunter habets over 8 years ago

The recording of the second night at the Guilty, Tokyo adds another 17 live tracks to the repertoire. Again, the Red Medicine album is on heavy rotation, providing 7 songs, followed by Repeater (4), End Hits (3), the self-titled or 7 Songs debut EP (2) and In On The Kill Taker (1).

The audio quality of the recording is essentially very good, although segments of the first couple of songs (Merchandise, Turnover, Repeater) are unfortunately marred by sonic discrepancies.

In between chatter is virtually non-existent, yet Guy does praise Yoyogi park as per usual, as “the coolest park in the world”, urging Tokyo police to “open that street back up ‘cause that was the coolest thing I have ever seen, when all the bands used to play up and down the street”, further noting “it’s still cool that the Rockabilly guys are showing up, and it’s cool that a few bands play but there’s nothing like seeing sixty bands playing simultaneously to blow your fucking mind.”

On a personal level, I find it a bit difficult to get into the flow of the set list, although the recording includes outstanding renderings of Shut the Door, Give Me The Cure, (a slow-paced, ambient) Version and Do You Like Me (with a drawn-out build-up).

Noteworthy as well, is the appearance of Repeater early on the set, as well as Waiting Room (with a deliciously grinding guitar) to close out the gig.

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0799 Fugazi Tokyo Japan 10/27/1996

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
Played with:
 Make Up, Atomic Fireball
Recorded by
 Nick Pellicciotto
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent
Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Merchandise
3. Turnover
4. Repeater
5. Caustic Acrostic
6. Interlude 1
7. Birthday Pony
8. Downed City
9. Shut the Door
10. Give Me The Cure
11. Bed For The Scraping
12. No Surprise
13. Five Corporations
14. Target
15. Instrument
16. Encore 1
17. Version
18. Do You Like Me
19. Encore 2
20. By You
21. Waiting Room

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.