Photo © by Fugazi

0 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets over 8 years ago

Fugazi’s inaugural trip to Japan in November 1991 (following a string of shows in Australia and one date in New Zealand) consists of just three performances, two consecutive nights at the Anti Knock, reportedly “a small club near Takashimaya Times Square [in Shinjuku district] where Tokyo’s colourful punks gather”, and one in the city of Osaka a couple of days later.

From the available audio source, as well as from the video sources provided below, it is clear that the band is very appreciative to have made it to Japan, having spent a couple of great days there, strikingly pleased with the sights and sounds of Tokyo and the distractions the city has to offer (note that Guy praises the King Fucker Chicken performance in the incredible Yoyogi park and at one point enquires about the pachinko heads in the audience as well).

The performance of the first night draws a total of 18 songs, with Repeater (8) and the (1991) album Steady Diet of Nothing (6) providing most live tracks, followed by the 7 Songs EP (2), the Margin Walker EP (1) and 3 Songs 7 inch (1 song).

The audio quality here is definitely enjoyable, even though the lower end frequencies cause a bit of a rumble throughout the recording and some of the quieter parts suffer from some sort of rustling sound as well.
The performance is intense and heartfelt overall, as the band figuratively (sometimes literally) hurls itself through the set and plays hard, Guy snarling to his heart’s content for emphasis.

Highlights include the regular in-between songs Japanese translations, Sieve-Fisted Find (note that Guy alters some of the lyrics on both Tokyo nights, “Sometimes I feel like a motherless son. You know I gotta gotta get it on"), Give Me The Cure (dubbed Wasabi for the occasion), Waiting Room, Blueprint, Shut the Door or Reprovisional.


By: gunter habets over 8 years ago


Footage of a good part of the set performed on the first night (Brendan #1 up to Waiting Room) can be found through YouTube, including lengthy introductory remarks which did not make the audio recording presented here:






As to the sound quality of the second night in Tokyo, it can be noted that the grinding, chugging guitars are really intrusive and dominant in the mix, which is pretty cool and surely engaging in itself, but unfortunately eclipses the rest of the soundscape on most of the recording, the vocals especially.

As such, this takes most of the fun out of this second recording for me personally. Fortunately, a handful of toned-down or delicately paced tracks, such as And The Same, Long Division or Suggestion sound less disproportionate. Plus, you do get an absolutely crushing and obliterating version of Glueman to close out the Tokyo adventure.

The second gig showcases a total of 19 songs. There is some more variation here, with songs drawn from the Steady Diet of Nothing (5) and Repeater (5) albums, the 7 Songs (5) and Margin Walker (3) EPs and 3 Songs 7 inch (1) respectively.

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0414 Fugazi Tokyo, Japan 11/12/1991

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
 Anti Knock
Played with:
 Bloodthirsty Butchers, Gut Slug
Recorded by
 Joey Picuri
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent

Guy and Ian take turns translating!

Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Turnover
3. Greed
4. Sieve-Fisted Find
5. Reclamation
6. Nice New Outfit
7. And The Same
8. Interlude 1
9. Two Beats Off
10. Burning Too
11. Bulldog Front
12. Bad Mouth
13. Break-In
14. Long Division
15. Runaway Return
16. Styrofoam
17. Dear Justice Letter
18. Promises
19. Encore 1
20. Waiting Room
21. Suggestion
22. Glueman
23. Outro

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.