0 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets about 3 years ago

One out of just two shows Fugazi played in Washington D.C. in April of 2001, this one a benefit for Neighbors Consejo & Homes Not Jails.

Having hosted three memorable Fugazi shows before, all of which 10 years earlier (see for instance my entries for the Februari 15, 1991 or April 12, 1991 shows), Sacred Heart Church Hall is another venue that is deeply tied in with the live history of the band.

Much like the show at the 9:30 Club a couple of days before, the set list particularly draws from (at the time) unreleased material if that’s your jam, while only showcasing a couple of songs off of their earlier albums and nothing off of the 7 Songs debut EP.

The recording starts off with the opening notes of Argument and documents 19 songs total, taken off of The Argument album (7) (at the time still unreleased), Furniture EP (2) (at the time unreleased), End Hits (2), Red Medicine (2), In on the Kill Taker (3), Steady Diet of Nothing (1), Repeater (2) and the Margin Walker EP (1).


By: gunter habets about 3 years ago


The audio quality of this one is pretty much impeccable, just some marginal cuts in between songs, and the recording documents an overall solid and enjoyable performance, even though Joe’s bass playing and singing does come off rather shaky during The Kill, something he makes up for leading the band into By You next (“maybe I’ll have a better time with this one”).

My personal highlights include early slots for Sieve-Fisted Find and Great Cop to get things going, a scarce and strong 2001 live rendering of Shut the Door with a cool, drawn-out improv (only 3 are currently listed for that year), an incredibly rare Hello Morning (only 2 instances are currently listed in total) as well as Strangelight to close out the night. Plus Ian delivers some interesting “everybody wants somewhere” introductory remarks going into Cashout, which ties in with the theme of the benefit at hand.

Courtesy of Joseph Vesely, who attend the show: “the sacred heart show was particularly cool for me because it was such an interesting location. and i enjoyed all of the information tables as well. and its also great to know that we’re all coming together for some really helpful causes and its great to be a part of that. they also played some stuff that i have wanted to see for so long. older stuff. older highlights for me were: ‘Sieve-fisted Find’, ‘By You’, and ‘Shut The Door’.”

By: Doug Mayo-Wells about 10 years ago

It was thrilling to hear so many new songs. I couldn't believe how hooky some of them were -- while still being totally uncompromising.

(And I have a lot of Fugazi reunion dreams too. Still.)

By: David Fischer over 12 years ago

First and last as well. Was just getting into them. Drove down from NJ b/c I didn't think I'd have a chance to see them again.
Ever since they went on hiatus, I have a dream about every 6 months during which I find out they're playing an unannounced show. I rush to where ever they are playing, and arrive just in time. However, I always wake up before the music starts, except last time I got to hear the first few notes of Arpeggiator.

By: Bretton Mattingly over 12 years ago

My first and last Fugazi show. I remember it being amazing, can't wait for the recording to back me up!

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0998 Fugazi Washington, DC USA 4/27/2001

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
 Sacred Heart Church Hall
Door Price:
Played with:
 Long Goodbye, Orthrelm
Recorded by
 Nick Pellicciotto
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent

Benefit for Neighbors Consejo & Homes Not Jails

Play Sample Track
1. Argument
2. Sieve-Fisted Find
3. Great Cop
4. Interlude 1
5. Nightshop
6. And The Same
7. Place Position
8. Epic Problem
9. Interlude 2
10. Last Chance for a Slow Dance
11. Interlude 3
12. Birthday Pony
13. Oh
14. The Kill
15. By You
16. Interlude 4
17. Cashout
18. Rend It
19. Shut the Door
20. Interlude 5
21. Hello Morning
22. Long Division
23. Arpeggiator
24. Strangelight
25. Outro

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.