Photo © by Chris Tolliver

3 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets over 8 years ago

For the record, please note that the transcription I refer to below, "a song about how teenagers should be paid about 5,50 to xerox your faces, hang out and listen to tapes, form beds and fuck around all summer” should in fact read: "(...) hang out and listen to tapes, form bands and fuck around all summer."

By: gunter habets over 8 years ago

Since their first appearance at the Fort Reno premises in the summer of 1988, Fugazi would return here every summer, with the exception of 1990, 1992 and 1995, until their indefinite hiatus in 2003. Hence, this 1991 recording is the third out of these performances which have been preserved and documented for posterity with the exception of the 1989 gig.

Ian’s vocals are slightly distant in the mix and the drums miss some depth or texture, coming off rather sharp (notably the cymbals). Also, there is a bit of a hiss during the quieter parts, as well as the occasional trace of background music which might be due to some PA spill-over. Still, if anything, I feel these issues do not diminish the highly enjoyable nature of the recording and performance.

Overall, there are few incidents or banter to be noted and the band vigorously rips through most of the night, perhaps because of an incoming thunderstorm, a recurrent phenomenon spoiling a number of Fort Reno concerts over the years.

Ian does share some personal comments and history related to the Fort Reno premises, as well as the plans of the park services at the time to reallocate the headquarters of the people behind the Fort Reno concert series.

This set includes a total of 16 songs, with 6 tracks taken from Repeater, 4 from the original 7 Songs EP, 3 from the Margin Walker EP, 2 songs from Steady Diet of Nothing, and 1 track from the 3 Songs 7 inch.

Out of these, I most enjoyed Blueprint, “a song about how teenagers should be paid about 5,50 to xerox your faces, hang out and listen to tapes, form beds and fuck around all summer”, Two Beats Off which provides ample opportunity for Guy to ad-lib his way through the lyrics, Burning and a nasty version of Glueman, a most suitable harbinger as the forces of nature slowly converged and were about to unleash and come down on Washington D.C.

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0369 Fugazi Washington, DC USA 7/29/1991

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
 Fort Reno
Door Price:
Played with:
Recorded by
 Joey Picuri
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent
Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Steady Diet
3. Sieve-Fisted Find
4. Greed
5. Interlude 1
6. Give Me The Cure
7. Song #1
8. Margin Walker
9. Bad Mouth
10. Interlude 2
11. Blueprint
12. Styrofoam
13. Two Beats Off
14. Merchandise
15. Exit Only
16. Promises
17. Encore
18. Burning
19. Burning Too
20. Glueman
21. Outro

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.