Photo © by Fugazi

4 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets over 6 years ago

The 1999 Fugazi show at Juarez Hall in Bakersfield, CA turns out to be one of my favourite recordings from their West Coast leg of the tour, because it essentially captures the low-key setting of this gig.

Interestingly, it played out in front of merely 400 attendees at a modest venue, which is rather remarkable by 1999 standards since the band had been well established by then.

I feel the set list flows really well here, spontaneously and naturally. The musicianship is spot-on, with few if any mistakes dotted around the place.

While the audio levels are fairly well balanced overall, Joe’s bass predominates, a throbbing metronome. My only gripe is that the instrumentation occasionally drowns out the vocals (e.g. Recap Modotti, Merchandise) and that the select audience is low in the mix, their enthusiasm just a faint, occasional trace throughout the recording.

Burning just might be the pinnacle of the show for me, as I can easily picture Ian hacking away at his guitar, until the absolute fierce breakdown comes crashing, a sonic onslaught.

The set list is short on rarities for the occasion, and offers just a single track off In on the Kill Taker, merely two tracks off of Red Medicine. Their other work, End Hits (6), Steady Diet of Nothing (3), Repeater (4), Margin Walker EP (3) and the 7 Songs EP (2) provides the rest of the songs, adding up to a total of 21 live tracks.

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0903 Fugazi Bakersfield, CA USA 3/4/1999

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
 Juarez Hall
Door Price:
Played with:
 Fluf, Pop Rockets
Recorded by
 Nick Pellicciotto
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent
Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Break
3. Sieve-Fisted Find
4. Interlude 1
5. Styrofoam
6. Foreman's Dog
7. Stacks
8. Dear Justice Letter
9. And The Same
10. No Surprise
11. Closed Captioned
12. Margin Walker
13. Waiting Room
14. Burning
15. Long Division
16. Target
17. Bed For The Scraping
18. Recap Modotti
19. Rend It
20. Interlude 1
21. Arpeggiator
22. Merchandise
23. Blueprint
24. Promises
25. Outro

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.