Photo © by John Falls.

-1 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets over 11 years ago

Out of the six Fugazi shows I attended over the years, this is the first recording that is made available. And so after a long, long time, I have been able to give it a listen. And so I did. Repeatedly.
Although Ian seems fed up from the outset with some of the people attending the show (note some of his introductory remarks, or his successive pleas to stop certain song requests), such irration fortunately does not undermine the musical performance at hand. On this particular evening Fugazi delivered, and I feel fortunate to be able to relive the experience.
The band kicks off with Turnover (which mistakenly is listed as Furniture in the set list), which pretty much is a dream come true for any fantasy Fugazi set list of mine. The solid rendition of the song captured here speaks volumes and pretty much sets the tone for the evening, since it seems to me that the overall performance of the band often stands or falls with the musical interplay during this particular song, with all of its subtleties and tricky timing.
But so you have a great version of Turnover right here, and it paves the way for plenty of other musical highlights including Do You Like Me, Merchandise, Floating Boy, Argument, Blueprint (!), Burning, Suggestion (!) or Repeater. Take your pick.
The only reservation I have is that Back to Base, which appears early on during the show in a rather unusual fashion, feels out of place and somewhat breaks the flow of the set list for me, and that not a single song is taken from one of my favorite albums, Steady Diet of Nothing.
Notwithstanding, this right here is the recorded document of an evening I can easily suggest. Enjoy!

By: gunter habets over 12 years ago

Some drunk up front spoiled a lot of this show for me, just staggering about and basically annoying me. Still, I would love to hear a recording of this show to reminisce :)

By: Milligan Gilli over 12 years ago

I still remember the whole gig as if it was yesterday ... it was the first and last time I saw fugazi and i was amazed ... 20 mates sitting up stairs, drinking beers, smoking joints and having a hell of a time ! there were two memories i will never forget and numero uno was when GP masters the art of sound by stepping back from the mic (i suppose it was a directional mic) and literally singing softer and mellower each step he takes stepping away from the mic ... at the end one could hear him singing as clear as ice and he's a mile away from the mic ! unfuckinbelieveable ! and the second great memory i have is when JL takes the limelight and just fucking strokes that bass the way it's supposed to be done ... haha, as if he was saying "hey guys, fuck off, this is the shit and it's my turn !" ... and Vandal X who opened are a kick ass band and i've been a fan from day one and they were probably my motivation to go and and record at Electrical Audio with Albini ... and thanks to Fugazi i hope to record with ted nicely next year because it seems so obvious to do so ! thanks for saving my youth !

By: Ronny over 12 years ago

Most fun I had at a Fugazi-show. 2 great opening bands and a relaxed crowd (for a Fugazi show that is). Spend the whole show in front of Ian dancing and yelling, told him to shut up and play music a few times when he started one of his diatribes, he didn't seem to mind. Also yelled for Good cop (I realized later the song is called Great cop) a bunch of times and they even played it as their last song (I seem to remember). I would love to hear this show again.

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0950 Fugazi Brussels, Belgium 10/15/1999

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
 Ancienne Belgique
Played with:
 Black Heart Procession, Vandal X
Recorded by
 Nick Pellicciotto
Mastered by
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent
Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Furniture
3. Interlude 1
4. Back to Base
5. Place Position
6. And The Same
7. Number 5
8. Rend It
9. Closed Captioned
10. Do You Like Me
11. Merchandise
12. Floating Boy
13. Argument
14. Blueprint
15. Interlude 2
16. Birthday Pony
17. Recap Modotti
18. Burning
19. Suggestion
20. Interlude 3
21. Last Chance for a Slow Dance
22. Encore 1
23. Break
24. FD
25. Repeater
26. Interlude 4
27. Oh
28. Five Corporations
29. Public Witness Program
30. Encore 2
31. Instrument
32. Target
33. Great Cop
34. Outro

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.