2 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: Antti V over 2 years ago

Fugazi begins their spring 1993 tour of the US with a benefit show at Maryland's College Park. The event took place at University of Maryland's Ritchie Coliseum, which is a multi-purpose venue for sports and music. Built in 1931, the Coliseum started hosting concerts in 1956.

This was a benefit show for Washington Free Clinic, for which Fugazi held multiple benefits. We get a nice introduction from someone telling about the bad healthcare situation in the US, then Ian gives his quick remarks and the show starts with Reprovisional. Some tuning issues disturb the performance for the first few songs, but the band push on with great force. Still, the tuning issues stop them going into full flow mode.

First of the show's highlights is a strong performance of 23 Beats Off. The band has the song down good, and it shows in the confident playing. Add to this a perfect, seamless segue to Exit Only, and you have a pretty amazing show going on.

By: Antti V over 2 years ago

There's a longer pause as Ian addresses a troublemaker, who doesn't impress anyone by squatting down and trying to hide from the proverbial spotlight. This interlude feels like a watershed moment, as the following Reclamation starts an epic narrative for the remainder of the evening. A powerful performance by the whole band, with Brendan squeezing out some extra sweat from himself on the drums. It's a pure musical delight when Guy goes straight into Public Witness Program, another new one that the band completely nails.

Ian mentions a hard curfew approaching and the show rolls onwards with rocking performances one after the other. Highlights include Returning the Screw, and a great version of Walken's Syndrome.

Shut the Door sounds really heavy this evening, and the chords in the chorus ring out especially massive. The band goes into the freeform, all-out, noisy jam-mode in the middle section. It's no wonder then how Guy needs to tune up before Last Chance for a Slow Dance. Another new one from the then upcoming In On The Killtaker album, and another one that the band has down just right.

The recording sounds very pleasing overall, and you can feel the band's power. And with the marvelous second half of the show this is a very recommendable entry.

By: gunter habets over 12 years ago

Slant 6, Hoover, Fugazi. A lineup nothing short of a dream! I truly enjoyed this recording. Much obliged :-)

By: Joel Berg over 12 years ago

I remember really enjoying this show - Hoover were intense and Fugazi were in fine form. I interviewed Ian earlier that day, for the school paper, The Diamondback, and worked at the show that evening (for SEE Productions, the student org that presented this show) loading in and setting up each bands' gear. The only unpleasant part of the night was at the end, when someone sprayed mace right before we broke down to load out. Looking forward to reliving this great show via the download.

- Hal

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0509 Fugazi College Park, MD USA 4/2/1993

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
 University of Maryland Ritchie Coliseum
Door Price:
Played with:
 Slant 6, Hoover
Recorded by
 Joey Picuri
Mastered by
 Jerry Busher
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent

Benefit for Washington Free Clinic

Play Sample Track
1. Opening Remarks
2. Intro
3. Reprovisional
4. Facet Squared
5. Nice New Outfit
6. Stacks
7. Interlude 1
8. Rend It
9. Interlude 2
10. 23 Beats Off
11. Exit Only
12. Interlude 3
13. Reclamation
14. Public Witness Program
15. Interlude 4
16. KYEO
17. Interlude 5
18. Turnover
19. Returning the Screw
20. Smallpox Champion
21. Interlude 6
22. Styrofoam
23. Walken's Syndrome
24. Interlude 7
25. Shut the Door
26. Interlude 8
27. Last Chance for a Slow Dance
28. Outro

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.