Flyer courtesy of Kent Moore

5 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: Alex Mitrani 9 months ago

I wrote a short article about the song 'Nice New Outfit' - which was performed for the first time at this show. Hope you find it interesting:

By: gunter habets over 8 years ago

This gig at Twisters in the city of Richmond, Virginia completes the short stretch of (five) regional dates Fugazi set out to play in the winter of 1991. It also relates to the fifth out of no less than nine times total Fugazi would hit this particular city, a dead cert it appears, spanning their entire career between 1987 and 2002.

Chalking up the sound quality of the recording as "very good" is stretching it in my humble opinion, since I think the vocal parts sound rather thin or a tad shrill with some slight traces of top end distortion, the drums fall somewhat flat and Joe's efforts on bass pretty much get buried during the noisier, up-tempo parts.

The recording is still worth checking out though, because once the mix settles during Turnover (causing a number of volume drops), the experience is doable and at times even highly enjoyable. Standout versions of Sieve-Fisted Find, And The Same or Bulldog Front come to mind.

One source mentions that "[a]s the Gulf War went well for the US, initial public skepticism became what Rollins called 'getting high on war' - a virus that infected even the punk scene. Accordingly, at this show in Richmond, Virginia,

"(…) Positive Force activists handing out antiwar fliers were physically intimidated and nearly ejected from the premises; only the band's intervention stopped the confrontation" [see, "Dance of Days: Two Decades of Punk in the Nation’s Capital", by Mark Jenkins and Mark Andersen]


By: gunter habets over 8 years ago


Furthermore, this did not stop Ian from elaborating some more on his antiwar stance, leading into a raging rendering of KYEO.

Note that the first live rendering of Margin Walker in 1991 follows suit, and it is a solid one at that. Also, Nice New Outfit is debuted live here, a song which

"speaks directly to the slick selling of the Gulf War of 1991, complete with twenty-four hour cable new relaying of propaganda about the necessity of the war and its 'smart bomb' campaign: 'You think that I’m a sucker for it / that we're all fodder for this / quick purchase once brought to market / dress it up and it's sold… You can pinpoint your chimney and drop one down its length / in your nice new outfit / sorry about the mess'" [cf. "Not So Quiet on the Western Front: Punk Politics During the Conservative Ascendancy in the United States, 1980–2000", by Brock Ruggles].

The recording includes 16 songs total, 6 tracks taken from Steady Diet of Nothing, 5 songs taken off of Repeater, 4 from the Margin Walker EP and just 1 track taken off of the 7 Songs debut EP.

However, the outro or concluding section of the recording leads me to believe that it is in fact incomplete, suggesting an encore was yet to come.

By: Glenn Hawley over 12 years ago

This was my 3rd Fugazi show. It Was on the Repeater Tour, & it was Packed in the Twisters Nightclub. I'll never forget the sight of Ian & Guy, Singing/Yelling into their Guitar Pickups! Never saw it before or Since!
It was A FANTASTIC show, from beginning to end! Can't wait to get a Copy of this Show!

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0310 Fugazi Richmond, VA USA 2/20/1991

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
Door Price:
Played with:
 Breadwinner, Coral
Recorded by
 Joey Picuri
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent
Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Turnover
3. Merchandise
4. Interlude 1
5. Latin Roots
6. Styrofoam
7. Interlude 2
8. Dear Justice Letter
9. Reclamation
10. Interlude 3
11. Sieve-Fisted Find
12. And The Same
13. Interlude 4
14. KYEO
15. Margin Walker
16. Burning Too
17. Interlude 5
18. Bulldog Front
19. Interlude 6
20. Promises
21. Nice New Outfit
22. Long Division
23. Blueprint
24. Outro

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.