Photo © Rob Middleton

3 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets over 9 years ago

EDIT - the familiar sounding instrumental I referred to in my previous post seems to have been played on a number of occasions during the 1988 European tour and is part of a provisional tune that is dubbed "Heart on My Chest" in the set list of a later recording (see FLS #0065; Bielefeld, Germany 10/31/88).

By: gunter habets over 9 years ago

This show at the Chill Up in Rotterdam, the Netherlands can be considered a bit of an adventure for the band for various reasons.
For example, it marked the beginning of the first European Fugazi tour ever. For about two months (mid October till mid December 1988) Fugazi would hit no less than 39 stages in 13 European countries. 15 of these shows seem to have been recorded and, as mentioned, this is the first one.
Further, while Fugazi had been turning heads and creating a buzz in the United States and D.C. especially since its inception in 1987, the band now found itself on another continent and new territory altogether, and as such had yet to find out how people would react to this new band and its unconventional sound especially. Something that might have been particularly challenging on this occasion, considering the headlining band.
Indeed, Fugazi did not headline this gig but opened for Extreme Noise Terror, and while some similarities between the two bands can be noted (both bands feature dual vocalists and are politically outspoken), the differences are even more obvious.

By: gunter habets over 9 years ago

While Fugazi tried to break the hardcore and punk mold, exploring different rhythmic ways of delivering its politically inclined yet more subtle lyrical message, Extreme Noise Terror is a British band originally known for its pioneering role in the crust punk and grindcore genres, basically steamrolling its listeners (at least at the time) with brutal vocals, grinding guitars, aggressive political content and songs delivered at breakneck speed.
However, the recording does not reveal any real problems or particular incidents in this regard. Yet it does seem to indicate that Ian and Guy find the audience a bit impervious, if anything. The result is a gig that features hardly any banter, and an explicit attempt by Ian to engage those present in a bit of a discussion turns out to be pretty much fruitless.
Still, the performance by the band itself is quite solid overall, although maybe a tad rushed at times, and definitely worth checking out. In this regard, it can be noted that the introductory segment of the recording consists of an instrumental little ditty which sounds familiar to me, yet I can't put my finger on its familiarity exactly.
Also, this show documents the live premiere of Lockdown, a song recorded in England right after this European tour at Southern Studios in England in December 1988 and released as part of the Margin Walker EP on vinyl in June 1989 and again in October 1989 as part of the 13 Songs compilation CD.

By: gunter habets over 9 years ago

Even though Fugazi played some of the arrangements of the song as early as December 1987 (see FLS #0008; Wilson Center, Washington, DC USA 12/03/87), you now get a full version that holds up well live. And quite remarkably, it is included in the set list of all 15 available European live recordings.
For the record, it can be noted as well that the Suggestion is played without the breakdown guitar part and as such ties in with the studio take of the song and the live performance at the dc space a couple of months prior (see FLS #0049; Washington, DC USA 8/01/88).
Although the sound quality of the recording is rated "poor" on the Live Series website, I'd rate is as "good" personally, since the vocals and instruments sound okay in the mix overall and are clearly discernible. The audience on the contrary is low in the mix, which renders the live experience less dynamic in my opinion.

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0053 Fugazi Rotterdam, Netherlands 10/14/1988

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
 Chill Up
Played with:
 Extreme Noise Terror, Deviant Instinct
Recorded by
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent

Our first European show. Extreme Noise Terror headlined.

Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Song #1
3. Bad Mouth
4. Burning
5. Merchandise
6. Interlude 1
7. Give Me The Cure
8. Suggestion
9. Burning Too
10. Margin Walker
11. Waiting Room
12. Lockdown
13. Interlude 2
14. The Word
15. Glueman
16. Outro

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.