Photo © by Miki Vuckovich

3 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets over 7 years ago

Third and final time Fugazi played in the city of San Diego, once again set at the SOMA, at the time a warehouse located on Metro Street (for some more background information related to the venue, see some of my earlier notes).

The recording captures the kick-off gig of Fugazi’s West Coast tour - which counts a remarkable 19 dates in as little as 21 days - and ushered in the 1999 Fugazi live itinerary.

This tour would eventually add up to 71 gigs and not only includes dates in the US (West Coast, Southern states, and one regional date in D.C.) but would also take the band through the United Kingdom and Ireland, as well as across the heartland of Europe.

It is reported that the band had to cancel some 8 dates mid-December in North Carolina, Georgia and Florida because of a family emergency, but these were made up for in January of the following year.

The sound quality of this recording is quite good overall, the drums especially. I noticed the audio cutting in and out during Break or Place Position, as well as some other occasional discrepancies. All in all, nothing overly disruptive. The audience is rather low in the mix, but now and then the enthusiasm does shine through nevertheless.


By: gunter habets over 7 years ago


As to the selection of songs and set list presented here, I did not notice any peculiarities, no recent additions, everything being pretty much standard fare. The End Hits album - which had seen its release in April 1998 - provides most tracks (9), with In on the Kill Taker (4), Red Medicine (3), 7 Songs debut EP (2), Margin Walker EP (2), Steady Diet of Nothing (1) and the (2001) Furniture EP (1) following suit, adding up to a total of 22 tracks.

There are some odd set list choices, e.g. Floating Boy gets slotted strangely right after an up-tempo Number 5 and fierce Great Cop, killing the momentum. Other times, the set flows really well, my personal highlight being Guilford Fall into Closed Captioned into Burning into Long Division.

Generally speaking, this performance feels a bit cluttered or sloppy, particularly the guitar play which reveals a fair number of false or missed notes, which might be due to this being Fugazi’s first live show in over 2 ½ months. It’s still a fun gig though, with notable renderings of And The Same, Do You Like Me or Promises, clocking in at 7 ½ minutes (note some dub percussion, cf. courtesy of Nick Pellicciotto working the soundboard).

It can also be mentioned that, by now, Jerry Busher (former band member of inter alia Fidelity Jones, All Scars, French Toast, Deathfix, and Fugazi roadie since April 1995), joins the band on stage for a number of songs, sometimes adding punch and percussion (e.g. Closed Captioned, Burning or Arpeggiator) or trumpet (e.g. Floating Boy).

By: Fugazi Live Series over 12 years ago

hello omar. thanks for pointing out the error.
the fix is in. - FLS

By: omar foglio over 12 years ago

The opening band was Gogogo Airheart. Check out http://www.gogogoairheart.com

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0891 Fugazi San Diego, CA USA 2/18/1999

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
Door Price:
Played with:
 Gogogo Airheart, Camera Obscura
Recorded by
 Nick Pellicciotto
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent
Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Break
3. Place Position
4. And The Same
5. Do You Like Me
6. Facet Squared
7. Guilford Fall
8. Closed Captioned
9. Burning
10. Long Division
11. Rend It
12. Bed For The Scraping
13. Recap Modotti
14. No Surprise
15. Waiting Room
16. Public Witness Program
17. Back to Base
18. FD
19. Encore 1
20. Number 5
21. Great Cop
22. Floating Boy
23. Promises
24. Arpeggiator
25. Outro

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.