Photo by Jered Bogli

0 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: Antti V over 2 years ago

Fugazi in Storrs, CT, playing a show at the University of Connecticut. This is their second and last time there, the first having been 2,5 years prior at the same place. Opening remarks are once again fun and ice-breaking, and Ian rather politely implores the audience not to crowd surf, informing that they don't want to throw anyone out for behaviour that's been going on earlier. Let's see how it plays out...

The mix is settled during the first few tracks, and there's some slight distortion going on at few points. When it's done, the sound is pretty good for the era. You can feel the big room and its natural reverb. The guitars are prominent in the stereo field, vocals cutting through nicely. Joe's bass sounds good, but the drums feel a tad buried in the mix, although they do have just enough clarity to them. All in all, this is a good, steady recording. And although the mix could have a better balance, it conveys very well the overall feel of the performances and the evening.

Show starts out real strong with the rare cut Joe #1. Played only a handful of times on the fall 1993 US tour, it's a great show opener and always a delight to hear. Followed by a rocking Styrofoam and personal favorite Exit Only, so no complaints here.

Problems ensue as Facet Squared rolls on. The show stops completely for a moment as Ian and Guy address the few attendees ruining things for everyone. Things are awkward and tedious but the band push on to a great flow of tracks.

Some more banter comes later as Ian launches some pretty funny stuff from the stage, as frustrated as he must have been with the troublemakers at that point. Guy introduces Returning The Screw as "a song called Seminar In Dance Etiquette", and what follows is a wonderfully unhurried and heavy version of the song.

By: Antti V over 2 years ago

Guy dedicates another tour rarity Bulldog Front to the bad apples, and afterwards Long Division also feels very much like a statement. Said song is definitely a brisky performance highlight where especially Brendan's drumming shines bright. The seamless cut into Cassavettes is pure flow perfection, but unfortunately the song hits an ugly wall as Ian addresses the house security for throwing someone out. Guy's sidenote, a humorously accented "Why must everything be so difficult?", is quite the summary for the evening. The band then takes a hard stand against the unrelenting acts of stage diving and there's a multi-minute commotion as people are apparently handed refunds and escorted out. Luckily we get to hear Cassavettes pick up where it left off. Afterwards Ian proceeds to break the tension in a beautifully self-ridiculing move by dedicating Great Cop to himself, and the song appropriately explodes out of the system.

Two Beats Off starts with a very cool jam, and when Guy hits those opening lines, the whole band comes together for a powerful performance of the song. Promises continues the jams as the mid-section is downright outer-spacey with all kinds of unique guitar lines from Ian and Guy. The added reverbs from the soundboard support the otherworldly feeling really well. Sweet and Low finally feels like an extension to all this delightfulness, and completes a fantastic encore.

By: Antti V over 2 years ago

As Ian mentions in an interview posted in Hartford Courant ahead of the show, the band was quite frustrated with violence at the shows.

"Last night we were playing in Portland, and these kids during the first band's set were fighting, and they were being such jerks. I was thinking, `I just gotta get a job in a bookstore something, beacause I can't stand being at gatherings where people are behaving like this.' "


As hopeful as the band might have been heading for this evening's gig, it turned out disappointing regarding the rowdy acts and other monkey business. Still, there's many musical highlights to make up for it, namely the great encore. Overall this is an interesting entry that showcases the difficulties of the era, while the band perform every song that they are allowed to finish with high energy and unified force.

By: David Fischer over 8 years ago

A man in a white hat is a drag on the show.
Is that Blurred Lines in the outro?

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0588 Fugazi Storrs, CT USA 9/18/1993

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
 University of Connecticut Fieldhouse
Door Price:
Played with:
 Shudder To Think, MI6
Recorded by
 Joey Picuri
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent
Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Joe #1
3. Styrofoam
4. Exit Only
5. Interlude 1
6. Facet Squared
7. Walken's Syndrome
8. Reclamation
9. Turnover
10. Interlude 2
11. Returning The Screw
12. Smallpox Champion
13. Waiting Room
14. Interlude 3
15. Bulldog Front
16. Long Division
17. Cassavetes
18. Great Cop
19. Encore
20. Two Beats Off
21. Promises
22. Sweet and Low
23. Outro

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.