Courtesy of Steve List

4 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets over 4 years ago

This recording documents the last out of 4 times Fugazi performed at the famed Gilman Street venue (1988, 1989, 1990, 1991), here a benefit gig for the Gilman Street Project. For some more information related to this particular venue, see my earlier notes and write-up of the 1988 concert.

The set notably opens with a rudimentary, instrumental rendering of Facet Squared. Similar versions of this track, which would not see an official studio release until 1993, have only been played live by the band on a handful of occasions. Other highlights and bangers include Runaway Return (“Bikini! Kill!”), Suggestion (which not only addresses the situation of women in the US but also the casualty toll of the first Iraq war that concluded - at least officially - a couple of months earlier), as well as an ominous-sounding version of Glueman that has Guy ad-libbing throughout (notice the cool intro “… looks good on you, bay area blue, area blue, bay area glue, area glue…”) and is quite a bit of a departure from the traditional build-up and breakdown since it offers more of a continuous sonic downpour this time around.

Even though the band pretty much curbs all unnecessary banter in-between songs, and the upfront and in-your-face vocals and guitars obscure the indispensable rhythm section (Brendan’s toms and snare drum, and Joe’s bass) from time to time, mostly during the up-tempo parts, the recording still emanates enough punk attitude to make it memorable and enjoyable. Imagine the guitars deliciously grinding, cutting and slashing left and right, the vocals angry, fierce.

The show offers 15 live tracks in total, and draws from the 7 Songs debut EP (4), the Margin Walker EP (2), Repeater (2), the Steady Diet of Nothing album (6) which saw its release in the summer of that same year, and, as mentioned, one track from the upcoming In on the Kill Taker album.

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0390 Fugazi Berkeley, CA USA 9/1/1991

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
 Gilman Street
Door Price:
Played with:
 Nation Of Ulysses, Bikini Kill, Tribate, Vagrants
Recorded by
 Joey Picuri
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent

Benefit for Gilman Street Project

Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Facet Squared Instrumental
3. Exit Only
4. Merchandise
5. Interlude 1
6. Latin Roots
7. Reclamation
8. Interlude 2
9. Nice New Outfit
10. Long Division
11. Runaway Return
12. Waiting Room
13. Interlude 3
14. Margin Walker
15. Suggestion
16. Give Me The Cure
17. Interlude 4
18. Promises
19. Reprovisional
20. Encore 1
21. Glueman

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.