3 Additional Photos & flyers

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: gunter habets over 10 years ago

First off, let me get out of the way that this is not the best sounding live recording. Even though this actually is the recording documented by Joey Picuri, it basically sounds like an audience recording, arguably because the band arrived late to the gig that evening and Joey did not have time to set up his usual arrangement, opting to use only a couple of microphones to get the job done. Still, do not let this put you off in itself, since the acoustics are still quite enjoyable, and probably better than most bootlegs that hit the black market prior to the official Fugazi live series.
I have to admit that I might be a bit biased though, since this actually is the first Fugazi live concert I ever attended. And listening to it again now, it certainly brings back memories. Listening closely during the intro as the venue speakers blare out Sinner Inside from the Earwig album by Pegboy that saw its release a couple of months earlier, and picking up small talk left and right and easily distinguishing the (my) all too familiar Limburg accent definitely hits home and immediately puts a smile on my face.

By: gunter habets over 10 years ago

But of course, there is a whole lot more to enjoy. Even though Ian concedes during the introduction that the band had “a very long, difficult and adversarial day”, the band clearly (luckily) decided to channel any negative residue or frustration through their instruments and music that night, which resulted in a highly energetic, yet overall spot-on and virtually flawless performance including no less than three encores. I remember clearly that the band simply did not let up on that particular night, throwing in a tremendous first encore and then really surprising those present by rolling out some more (notice how the venue music already starts playing twice during Encore 2 & 3). True bliss, with the only drawback that Promises unfortunately is cut short on the final recording.
A total of 25 songs were played, with 11 songs taken from the Red Medicine album, 4 songs taken from the In On The Kill Taker album, 3 from Steady Diet of Nothing, followed by 3 songs from the Repeater album, 2 songs taken from the original Fugazi EP, 1 song from the Margin Walker EP and 1 song from the 3 Songs 7”. As I mentioned, this is a great overall performance, with some of my personal highlights being Joe #1 into Exit Only and Turnover into Sweet and Low, as well as the little vocal twist that Guy includes during the opening lines of Blueprint which renders this song ever so haunting.

By: gunter habets over 12 years ago

actually, i remember someone told me after the show that someone he knew took (i.e. stole) a tape from the soundboard right after the show. i remember this person being vague when i asked him about the contents of that tape, so i am hoping this is not the tape with the recording of the Fugazi show! if so, i urge this person to give it back and make it available to the world! really hoping to hear this sometime since it was my first Fugazi show.. .

By: gunter habets over 12 years ago

i remember the band being really late that night, being delayed on their way over. after God is my Co-pilot played, there was a long wait. i remember strolling through the venue and all of a sudden Guy, Joe and Ian walked in and passed me by, getting ready to gear up. although i was a bit disappointed by the general crowd ambiance that night, i remember the band did three or four encores. friggin' awesome!

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0666 Fugazi Leuven Belgium 5/18/1995

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
Played with:
 God Is My Co-Pilot
Recorded by
 Joey Picuri
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent
Play Sample Track
1. Intro
2. Joe #1
3. Exit Only
4. Reclamation
5. Interlude 1
6. Blueprint
7. Back To Base
8. Target
9. Bed For The Scraping
10. Interlude 2
11. Dear Justice Letter
12. Interlude 3
13. Returning The Screw
14. Smallpox Champion
15. Interlude 4
16. Suggestion
17. Give Me The Cure
18. By You
19. Facet Squared
20. Fell, Destroyed
21. Long Distance Runner
22. Encore 1
23. Forensic Scene
24. Interlude 5
25. Shut the Door
26. Turnover
27. Sweet and Low
28. Encore 2
29. Latest Disgrace
30. Birthday Pony
31. Downed City
32. Encore 3
33. Combination Lock
34. Promises

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.