Stuff We Sell
Introduction to Escape-Ism


If you have an issue to report or need help, please visit store help.

Log in to comment

Merge MRG613 Escape-Ism Introduction to Escape-Ism

Introduction to Escape-ism shouldn’t only be reviewed in the music press but in the “world affairs” column of a conspiracy-minded newspaper, on a hot-rod review TV show, or possibly at an important conference by a renowned astrophysicist. It’s that important!

Why? Because it’s the first “solo” record by Ian Svenonius—of groups The Make-Up, Chain & the Gang, The Nation of Ulysses, XYZ, Weird War, etc. and author of underground bestsellers such as The Psychic Soviet, Supernatural Strategies for Making a Rock ’n’ Roll Group, and Censorship Now!!—and as such, it’s profound, prophetic, perverse, and poetic… It’s introverted glitter, violence against the state, obsessive desire; it stomps on convention, shreds constitutions, clobbers pre-conceived notions of what a record can be.

Yes, that’s right: a single-person performance by I.F. Svenonius—recognized by Performer Magazine as the “greatest performer on the planet”—Introduction to Escape-ism is a bite into a one-banana bunch.

  1. Walking in the Dark
  2. Lonely At the Top
  3. Rome Wasn't Burnt in a Day
  4. Iron Curtain
  5. Almost No One (Can Have My Love)
  6. They Took the Waves
  7. The Stars Get in the Way
  8. I Don't Remember You
  9. Crime Wave Rock