Stuff We Sell

Steady Sounds steady02 Mod Subs Primitive By Today's Standards

The Mod Subs were one of Richmond’s original punk bands. They formed in the spring of 1980 and stuck it out for a little over a year. Mike Rodriguez played lead guitar; Jeff Keezel, bass; Hal Imburg, drums; and Dave Lewis was the singer. This long-lost master reel was originally recorded and mixed after-hours in the basement studio at Union Theological Seminary, where Keezel worked a day job as an AV tech. The tracks are a mix of originals, early punk covers, and a couple of re-purposed American classics. It’s presented as it was originally released, a mixture of live-in-the-studio songs recorded two, three, four at a time without a break, and inter-cut with a few samples from movie soundtracks. The last three songs were recorded live at a local club and capture some of the joy and chaos of a Mod Subs show.

  1. Speed
  2. Red White and Blue
  3. Video Idiots
  4. I Don't Wanna
  5. Disease
  6. White Minority
  7. Media Zombies
  8. Red London
  9. Hard On
  10. Wanna Be Your Dog
  11. Gasp For Air
  12. First I Gotta Learn to Play
  13. Crepe Hair Woman
  14. Suburbanite
  15. Black Boot
  16. New Wave Shit
  17. Get Vacant
  18. Pink Flamingo (Live)
  19. Can't Handle the Load (Live)