Stuff We Sell

Artificial Peace

(1981 - 1982)

Steve Polcari - vocals
Pete Murray - guitar
Rob Moss - bass
Mike Manos - drums
Artificial Peace

Artificial Peace was formed by Pete, from Red C, along with Mike, Rob and Steve of Assault and Battery. They were tight, fast, and aggressive and they quickly managed to build one of the largest followings of all of the early bands. Artificial Peace were also one of the first D.C. area groups to play out of town, always making it a point to announce that they were from Bethesda, a city just across the D.C. line in Maryland. In 1981, Ian recorded a 17-song demo with the band at Inner Ear and three of those songs appear on the "Flex Your Head" sampler. They also released a split 7” with a band called The Exiled on the Fountain of Youth label. After Artificial Peace dissolved in 1982 Pete, Steve and Mike went on to form Marginal Man. Rob later joined Government Issue and played on their '83 US tour. In 2010, the entire Inner Ear session was compiled and released as “Complete Session: Nov ’81.”

Photo: Cynthia Connolly