Stuff We Sell

Soul Side

(1986 - 1989)

Bobby Sullivan - vocals
Scott McCloud - guitar
Johnny Temple - bass
Alexis Fleisig - drums
Soul Side

In 1985, there was a younger punk scene forming in Washington, D.C. around Sammich Records, a label co-founded by Amanda MacKaye, the younger sister of Dischord Records co-founder Ian Mackaye. The first Sammich release was a split 7" EP called "Thanks". One side was a young band from Arlington called Mission Impossible (featuring a young Dave Grohl on drums) and on the other side was a new band out of Wilson High School called Lunchmeat, who would soon change their name to Soulside. 

Soulside quickly became very popular and released their first full-length album on Sammich in 1986. Shortly thereafter their bass player, Chris Thomson (who later played in Ignition, Circus Lupus and Monorchid), left the band and was replaced by Johnny Temple. 
Soulside went on to release an EP, a single, and an album for Dischord Records and toured regularly, both in the US and in Europe. In the spring of 1989, the band set out with Eli as both roadie and sound engineer on a 3-month European tour which culminated with the recording of "Hot Bodi-Gram" in Holland. After returning home, Bobby Sullivan left the band, and a year or so later Eli joined the other three to form Girls vs. Boys. Sammich later re-issued Soul Side's debut album onto CD for the first time in 2004. The band's Dischord releases were culled onto one CD, "Soon Come Happy", released in 1990 and re-mastered in 2003.

 In 2015, the group—singer Bobby Sullivan, guitarist Scott McCloud, drummer Alexis Fleisig, and bassist Johnny Temple—reunited for the first time in 25 years. They recorded “This Ship”  during a brief run of European shows in autumn of 2019 at Jamor Studio in Prague with Ondrej Jezek. 

Website | Email